College Disha

O Level Exam Pattern 2024

O Level Exam Pattern 2024:

NIELIT conducts O Level Examination in the field of Information Technology. This course is accredited by the Government of India and has a duration of 1 year. The O Level Exam pattern consists of 2 semesters of 6 months each and the syllabus consists of 4 theory modules, 1 practical case study, and 1 project-based case study.

The O Level Exam is conducted by the National Institute of Electronics and Information Technology and is a foundation course on Computers. Interested candidates for the O Level course can apply for the examination in the following ways:

Apply directly by Registering online with NIELIT

Enroll in institutes that are recognized by NIELIT.

The O Level Exam Pattern also denotes the eligibility criteria of the students who want to apply for the Foundation Level Computer examination.

Let us now check the eligibility criteria of the O Level exams for students who apply directly for the course from NIELIT and for students who apply for the course from Institutes accredited with NIELIT.
O Level Exam Pattern 2024

O Level Pattern for students from Institutes accredited by NIELIT:

  • The candidate should qualify for Class 10 exams and complete Certificate Training in ITI from a recognized Institute.
  • The candidate should qualify for Class 12 exams from a recognized Board.
  • The candidate should complete a second-year Polytechnic Engineering Diploma Course from an accredited institution and complete an O Level Course simultaneously while pursuing the third year of the Polytechnic Diploma.

O Level Exam Pattern for Direct students (Students pursuing the course from NIELIT)

  • The candidate should complete the Class 10 Board and complete a 1-year Certificate Program from a recognized Institute. This will be followed by a work experience of 1 year in which the candidate can work in a recognized Institution as a faculty member.
  • The candidate should qualify for Class 12 Board Exams.
  • The candidate should qualify for the Data preparation and Computer software examination conducted by the Government of India.

The eligibility criteria for the candidates can be listed in the following table:


Direct Applicants

Applicants from Institutes recognized by NIELIT


Qualified Class 12 boards

Qualified the Class 12 Boards


Qualified Class 10 Boards followed by 1-year experience in ITI and teaching experience of 1 year from a reputed Institute

Qualified Class 10 Boards with 1year ITI Certificate


Qualified the Data  preparation and computer software examination conducted by the Government of India

Qualified Class 10 Boards and completed Polytechnic Engineering Diploma Course from a recognized Institute.

The O Level pattern and syllabus have been designed by NIELIT and is essential for the candidates to know about the functionalities of the Examination. After going through the examination pattern the candidates should study the O Level Syllabus thoroughly to know all the topics and the modules of the exam.

After studying the O Level Exam Pattern and the syllabus the candidates can solve previous years' question papers to get a good grasp of the subject and learn to manage examination time.

Given below is the O Level Examination pattern in Details:

  • The O Level theoretical Exam consists of a total of 100 marks.
  • The total duration of the theoretical examination is 3 hours.
  • The O Level Practical examination has a duration of 3 hours.
  • The total marks for the practical examination are 100.
  • The question paper is divided into 2 modules/2 parts: Module 1 consists of four questions and Module 2 consists of 5 questions
  • Part I or Module 1 can be answered in an answer sheet that is attached to the question paper. The maximum time allotted to the candidate to complete Part I is 1 hour. Candidates who finish Part I of the examination before completion of 1 hour can start Part II of the question paper after handing the Part I Answer Sheet to the invigilator.
  • The mode of the O Level Exam is offline and the examination centers are allotted to the candidates as per the convenience of their location

A Tabular Representation of the O Level Exam Pattern:


Particulars of the Examination Pattern



Name of the exam

NIELIT O Level Examination


Mode of examination 



Duration of the examination

Theory- 3 hours

Practical- 3 hours


Total marks for the examination

Theory- 100 marks

Practical- 100 marks


Total number of Modules/Parts



Total number of questions

Module/Part I- 4 questions

Module/Part II- 5 questions

The candidate who is interested in applying for the O Level exams can do so by completing the registration process online. The O Level examination is conducted twice a year and the Registration forms are available on the official website of NIELIT.

The aspirant who is interested in taking the O Level Exams can do so by filling up the Application form within the designated time. The payment of the Registration fees is an online process and fees once paid cannot be reimbursed under any circumstance.

Why is knowledge of the O Level Exam Pattern important for the students?

The O-level Exam is conducted by the National Institute of Electronics and Information Technology and is a Foundation Level Course in Computers. The duration of the Course is 1 year and the training consists of 2 semesters.

The pattern of the O Level Exams is important for the students who are interested in the field of Computers and Information Technology. NIELIT conducts both theoretical and practical examinations and the candidates can gain knowledge and get practical skills in the field of Computer Applications. 

After knowing the O Level Exam Pattern and syllabus the aspiring candidate can prepare for the exams with full enthusiasm. NIELIT uploads the revised syllabus for the O Level Exams every year on the official website. The candidates should check the NIELIT official website regularly for new updates or revisions in the syllabus.

NIELIT conducts the foundation in Computer Applications course every year for students who apply for the course directly from NIELIT and students who take the course from Institutes that are accredited by NIELIT. 

NIELIT O Level Exam Pattern 2024 
O Level Exam Syllabus
O Level Exam Admit Card
O Level Exam Answer Key
O Level Exam Result
O Level Exam Notification
O Level Exam Registration Form
O Level Exam Dates

Need help?

Copyright All rights reserved