Full Form of TGT, PGT, PRT, TET and CTET

Government teaching job is a very reputed profession and a growing job in India. In this article, we are providing information about the latest Government Teaching eligibility exam 2018-2019. There are three levels of teaching posts such as PRT, TGT, and PGT. PRT teacher can teach up to 1st to 5th level, TGT teacher can teach up to 10th level, and PGT can teach up to 12th level. For these, eligibility tests are conducted by the authorised body every year named as:-

  • Kendriya Vidyalaya Sangathan (KVS),
  • Navodaya Vidyalaya Samiti (NVS),
  • Delhi Subordinate Services Selection Board (DSSSB)

These are conducting bodies that manage written test for the recruitment of the teaching posts - Principals, Vice-Principals, Post Graduate Teachers (PGTs), Trained Graduate Teachers (TGTs), Librarian, Primary Teacher (PRT) and Primary Teacher (Music). Candidates are required to apply online through the official website of the particular conducting body.

 PRT Exam-

Primary Teacher Exam is regulated by most of the states in India, for the recruitment of graduate teacher in state government schools. This exam is held for recruiting the primary teachers who teach class 1st to 5th. After passing this exam, candidates will be eligible to do work as a teacher in any government school.

Educational Requirement-

i) Candidates should have passed Senior Secondary School Certificate with 50% marks or Intermediate with 50% marks or its equivalent.

ii) Candidates should have appeared for the CTET conducted by the CBSE in accordance with the Guidelines framed by the NCTE for the purpose.

iii) Ability to teach through Hindi and English media

TGT Exam-

TGT is a state level exam which is conducted for teachers to get teaching jobs in government schools from Class 1 to Class 8. Those candidates who have a graduate degree in any discipline with B.Ed degree from recognized university/institute/college are eligible to apply for TGT exam. There is an age limit for candidates. Minimum age limit to appear in the TGT exam is 21 years and there is no upper age limit for this exam. But it may vary state wise.

Who can apply for the TGT Exam?

Aspirants have to pass 4 years Integrated degree course from Regional NCERT College of Education in relevant subject with minimum 50% marks/ B.Ed or equivalent qualification/ English and Hindi/ Concerned Regional Language Teaching Ability/ CTET passed organized by Central Board of Secondary Education (CBSE).

Age limit: The minimum age of the candidate should be 21 as on 01 July

Maximum age: 35 years for TGT post

PGT Exam-

In order to recruit graduate teachers in state government schools, the Post Graduate Teacher exam is organized in most of the states of India. Candidates who are graduate with B.Ed degree are eligible to appear for PGT exam from recognized university/institute/college may apply to PGT exam. Candidates also have to pass 2 year Post Graduate course from Regional NCERT College of Education in relevant subject with minimum 50% marks/ B.Ed or equivalent qualification/ Proficiency in Teaching in Hindi & English Languages.

Who can apply for the PGT Exam?

Candidates must have at least 50% marks in aggregate in any of the following:

  • B.E or B.Tech (Computer Science! IT) from an approved University or equivalent Degree or Diploma from an institution/ university recognised by the Govt. of India.


  • BE or B.Tech (any stream) and Post Graduate Diploma in Computers from a well-known University


  • MSc. (Computer Science)/ MCA or Equivalent from a well-known University


  • B.Sc. (Computer Science) / BCA or Equivalent and Post Graduate degree in the subject from a well-known University


  • Post Graduate Diploma in Computer and Post Graduate degree in any subject from a well-known University


  • ‘B’ Level from DOEACC and a master’s degree in any subject


  • ‘C’ Level from ‘DOEACC’ Ministry of Information and Communication Technology and Graduation.

Age Limit: Minimum age limit to appear in this exam is 21 years

Maximum Age: 35 is an upper age limit for this exam. But it may also vary state wise.

TET Exam-

If you want to become a teacher then you have to pass the TET exam as it has become a minimum eligibility criterion for the same. Almost every state and central government conduct their TET exam for recruiting teachers. Even some states lead the TET exam twice in a year while in some states the TET exam is conducted once in two or three years depending on the vacancies they have. TET is valid for up to 5 years.

Exam Pattern-

The Teacher Eligibility Test (TET) is directed in two levels

Paper 1: Primary Level (Class 1st to 5th) for the primary teacher.

Paper 2: Upper Primary Level (Class 5th to 8th)

Note: If any candidate desires to apply from Class 1st to 8th s/he will have to pass both the papers.

Eligibility Criteria-
  • Candidates should have passed a bachelor degree plus B. Ed degree with minimum 50% marks from a recognised board.
  • Candidates should have passed TET examinations which will be conducted by the appropriate Government.
CTET Exam-

CTET (Central Teaching Eligibility Test) is a national level entrance examination which is conducted by the state as well as central government to recruit skilled teachers for Primary level and Upper Primary level. This exam is conducted twice in a year – December and July. CTET 2019 for July session is planned for July 7, 2019. The CTET shall apply to schools of the Central Government (KVS, NVS, Central Tibetan Schools, etc.) and schools under the administrative control of UT’s of Chandigarh, Dadra and Nagar Haveli, Daman & Diu and Andaman & Nicobar Islands and NCT of Delhi. CTET candidates may also apply to the unaided private schools, who may exercise the option of considering the CTET.

CTET Exam Pattern-
  • The paper consists of 150 objective types of question.
  • The examination is conducted in 20 languages and has objective type questions (MCQs).
  • The time duration of the CTET exam is 150 minutes.
  • As per the statements from the candidates, the difficulty level of the exam was moderate
Eligibility Criteria-
  • Candidates should have a bachelor’s degree with at least 50% marks from a recognised university.  
  • Applicants must have completed 1-year Bachelor in Education (B.Ed).
Read More Full Form of Government Exams & Entrance Exam:




Full Forms Of MBBS, MS /M.Sc, MCA, BBA, MBA

Related Article

Comments [0]

Add Comment

Co-Powered by:

College Disha

2 votes - 80%

Login To Vote

Date: 15 Feb 2019

Comments: 0

Views: 13153

Trending Articles

Other Articles