College Disha
SSC CGL 2024 Exam Pattern for Tier 1,2,3 & 4

Update on 2024-04-15

SSC CGL 2024 Exam Pattern for Tier 1,2,3 & 4

SSC CGL exam pattern 2024 is announced by the Staff Selection Commission for the CGL exam which will be held in 2024. It is important for the applicants going to appear for the examination to go through the latest SSC CGL exam pattern and make suitable changes needed in their study strategy.

SSC CGL is a national-level exam that is led by SSC every year for employee candidates who are eligible for the Group B and Group C posts in different ministries of the Government of India. The SSC CGL 2024 Exam pattern includes 4 stages those are Tier 1, 2, 3, and 4.

While Tier 1 and Tier 2 cover multiple-choice questions, Tier 3 is a descriptive exam. Applicants who succeed in all these three stages will be asked to appear for the Tier 4 exam, which contains the Data Entry Speed Test or Computer Skill Test.

SSC CGL Exam Pattern 2024

SSC CGL exam pattern 2024 contains four stages or tiers that are designed to test the candidates on many features of knowledge and their capabilities. The 4 stages of the SSC CGL examination are Tier 1, Tier 2, Tier 3, and Tier 4. The exams for the first two tiers will be conducted online. Tier 3 will be a written exam and Tier 4 is a skill-based test, which is a computer-based exam.

Here, we are giving the SSC CGL 2024 Exam pattern for all four tiers.

Let us check the SSC CGL paper form for each Tier below:

SSC CGL Tier 1 Exam Pattern

The SSC CGL Tier 1 exam pattern contains four sections that are divided into 25 questions each. Each question has 2 marks, making every section worth 50 marks. The total number of marks applicants can score in the exam is 200.

It is a computer-based and Multiple-Choice Question exam. The total duration for this exam is 60 minutes i.e. 1 hour, where the candidates have to complete all four sections. The subjects under SSC CGL exam pattern Tier 1 are English, Quantitative Aptitude, General Intelligence and Reasoning, and General Awareness. The whole exam pattern of SSC CGL Tier 1 is tabularized below for a better understanding.

Sections No. of Questions Total Marks Time
General Intelligence and Reasoning 25 50 60 Min
General Awareness 25 50
Quantitative Aptitude 25 50
English Comprehension 25 50
Total 100 200

Note: For candidates who suffer from intellectual palsy or are visually challenged, the time limit will be 80 minutes.

Check out the marking system as per the SSC CGL exam pattern 2024 for Tier 1 below:

  1. There will be no separate cut-off for each section.
  2. 0.5 marks will be removed from the total score for incorrect answers.
  3. No marks deduction for unattempted questions.

SSC CGL Tier 2 Exam Pattern 2024

Candidates who pass the Combined Graduate Level Tier 1 exam will appear for SSC CGL Tier 2 exam in 2024. This exam is also a computer-based, Multiple Choice Question exam and is divided into four segments.

Going by the efficient SSC CGL Tier 2 exam pattern 2024, this exam is having a total of 500 questions and each paper in this Tier has to be finished within the given timeframe of 2 hours i.e., 120 minutes.

Check out the SSC CGL exam pattern 2024 for Tier 2 given below:

Paper No. of Questions Total Marks Time
Quantitative Abilities 100 200 2 hours
English Language  200 200 2 hours
Statistics 100 200 2 hours
General Studies (Finance and Economics) 100 200 2 hours
Total 500 800 8 hours

SSC CGL Marking Scheme Tier 2

The SSC CGL marking system as per the SSC CGL paper pattern is given below:

  1. In Paper 2 (English Language and Comprehension), 0.25 marks will be deducted for each wrong answer, whereas, in other subjects, 0.50 marks will be deducted for each wrong answer.
  2. No marks will be deducted for unattempted questions in SSC CGL Tier 2 examination.

SSC CGL Examination Pattern 2024 For Tier 3

Applicants who finish Tier 2 exam will be eligible for Tier 3 which is a written form of the exam. As per the latest SSC CGL form, Tier 3 is a descriptive exam held in pen and paper method, meant at evaluating the writing skills of the applicants in the English/Hindi language. Candidates go for this exam for 100 marks with a period of 1 hour.

Have a quick look at the SSC CGL exam pattern 2024 for Tier 3 given below:

Subject Marks Time
Descriptive Paper in English/Hindi (Essay Writing, Précis Writing, Letter Writing, Application writing, etc.) 100 marks 60 minutes

For applicants using Copyists, the time limit is 1 hour and 20 minutes i.e., 80 minutes.

SSC CGL Marking Scheme Tier 3

The marking system of SSC CGL Tier 3 as per the SSC CGL paper pattern is given below:

  • Applicants have to attempt this paper in English or Hindi language. Applicants who use both languages in the exam will be awarded 0 marks.
  • Letter writing and summary writing often carry 20-30 marks and essay writing carries 50 marks. This is not sure and subject to change.

SSC CGL Exam Pattern Tier 4

Applicants who clear the first three tiers of the SSC CGL will be competent to take the Tier-4 exam. This is a skill test planned to evaluate the computer expertise skills of the applicant. This exam is qualifying in nature and is only led for certain posts, meaning, only where it is relevant.

There are two steps tangled in the SSC CGL exam pattern of Tier 4:

  • Data Entry Speed Test

This test assesses the typing skills of the candidate. Candidates need to type 2000 words in 15 minutes in the English language. The test is conducted for the people who are aiming for the post of Tax Assistant (Central Excise and Income Tax).

  • Computer Proficiency Test (CPT)

This test is directed to check an applicant’s proficiency in computer operations and is divided into 3 sections, Word Processing, Spreadsheets, and Generation of Slides. For every section, the time of the test is 15 minutes and these tests occur one after another.

Need help?

Copyright All rights reserved